+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Using Bleach

Default Using Bleach

Hello, I am new to the fourm and have found alot of great information. Thank you everyone.
    I have a question about using Liquid shock 12% or Clorox instead of 3" tabs.
    Right now I have a inline Hayward clorinator. It doesnt matter what level I have it set on it is eating tabs at a rapid rate. 14 in 4 days. I tested my water this morning and got a FC =0 so I added more tabs. I also have a float with 3 tabs in it My water is crystal clear and the PH is 6.8
    I had my water tested a pool store 2 weeks ago
    CYA=37 I added 1 1/2 lbs o stabilizer
    ph=7.8 (they had me lower it)
    I have not been able to make it back to the pool store (because of distance) so I am not sure what those levels are today..

Vinyl liner 15,000 gallons
    I live in OH and it has been really HOT this summer. my water temp has been running around 89-91
    today it is only 86

So here is my primary question. (OH I use taylor ph and fc test) nothing else in the kit
    I am thinking of switching to liquid chlorine instead of tabs . ( I dont think my inline chorinator is working)
    I can easily test the water every evening. but not in the morning
    Will I need to test and add daily to maintain a level of 1-3 ??
    and is it ok to leave the Floating tabs in the pool and use Liquid at the same time ?
    approx how much shock would I have to add daily ?
    I think switching would be alot more cost efficient but I just dont know and need some advice.

This is the 4th year with the pool and I seem to be getting worse at keeping the chlorine lever correct.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: Using Bleach

#1 - Order the Taylor K2006 w/ DPD-FAS chlorine testing (Amazon link below)